RachelMarjne #CBR4 Review 1 – Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michele Moran

Hi… This is my first Cannonball Read and my first review.  WhoooWhoo! I expect this will be the worst review with the best yet to come.  So!  …without further ado…

I picked up Cleopatra’s Daughter as an audio from the library (due mostly to the fact that I had listened to everything else on the shelf already!).  I fell in love with this book quickly and started to recommend it before I had even finished it. It was well written, well researched and the characters were developed in such a way I felt an intimate of them, as if I were there walking with them into the Circus or on the Palatine, swimming in Sicily, wandering through Rome shopping.

Cleopatra and Marc Antony had three children together.  This is the story of the children after Octavian’s triumphant taking of Egypt.  Princess Cleopatra Selene, Queen Cleopatra’s daughter, was the last survivor of the Ptolemaic dynasty.  Her brothers,  her fraternal twin Alexander Helios and younger brother  Ptolemy Philadelphus, both die in the book (its not a secret since its historical fact!) and the author writes of their deaths in such a way that grips the reader, engages the emotion and I admit it-had me bawling on my way to work.  And I couldnt wait to get back in the car and find out what happened next.

Its a beautifully written and poignant story.  Michele Moran has done her research and has visited the sites she is writing about and its obvious by her writing.  She has managed to capture the feel of the people and places and is able to immerse the reader in the culture of the time period.  She intertwined some leaps within the story that arent historically accurate but blend beautifully with the overall telling of this tale.  All in all I loved this book and author and cant wait to get another of her books.

Hey-that was relatively painless!  On to review #2!

See you at the finish line!

About rachelmarjne

Read for pleasure, live in central jersey and am the queen of procrastination!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RachelMarjne #CBR4 Review 1 – Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michele Moran

  1. Pingback: RachelMarjne #CBR4 Review 1 – Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michele Moran « Cannonball Read IV

Leave a Reply

